Esther J. Piercy Award George Gibbs 02 Oct 1991 15:24 UTC

This is a call for nominees for the Esther J. Piercy Award.

The Esther J. Piercy Award was established by the Association for Library
Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) in 1968 and is given each year in
which the jury believes there is a qualified candidate.  It is presented in
recognition of a contribution to librarianship in the field of technical
services by a librarian with not more than *10* years of professional
experience who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contributions and
leadership in any of the fields comprising technical services by such means
as: a) leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional, or
national levels; b) contributions to the development, application,
contributions to the development, application, or utilization of new or
improved methods, techniques, and routines; c) a significant contribution to
professional literature; and d) conduct of studies or research in the
technical services.

A letter of nomination should include the name of the nominee, the date that
the nominee entered his/her first professional position, and a formal
statement of nomination, including a brief rationale.  Also,  enclose a resume
or narrative career outline.  Letters of endorsement from others should
provide additional evidence of the worthiness of the nominee.

Deadline for nomination is December 1, 1991.  Send nominations to or direct
questions to:

George E. Gibbs
Chair, Piercy Award Jury
502 Watson Library
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS  66045

(913) 864-3601

Please share this information with others in your institution.